The Community Church of East Williston
Where Faith and Community Unite
The Community Church of East Williston is an independent, nondenominational congregation that embraces a variety of religious backgrounds. It began in 1899 when villagers and farmers from seventeen different denominations came together in a private home for a prayer meeting. The congregation dedicated the original sanctuary on December 6, 1925. The church’s original pipe organ, built by Austin Organs of Hartford CT, was dedicated in 1926. The church has undergone several additions, and the organ several renovations (most recently this year), since that time.
The Community Church of East Williston was founded in the belief that a church should be a place where people can congregate and worship regardless of their denominational heritage. It was one of the first churches on Long Island to join the International Council of Community Churches, which ushered in the end of segregation at services, allowing congregants to worship together regardless of race.
Our history gives meaning to our promise that All Are Welcome Here. Today, the Community Church of East Williston aspires to be a beacon of light, hope and acceptance. It is a vibrant church focused on spirituality, philanthropy, and service to the community.